History of The Indian Cricket Team

Cricket and India have a genuine bond that is impossible to describe. In India, cricket is the most popular and popular sport. The development of cricket throughout India throughout the game’s history is evident. Lets discuss history of the Indian cricket team.

The beginning of Indian cricket

British colonists brought cricket to India around 1700. The first cricket club founded by Indians was the Oriental Cricket Club. And founded by the Paris community in Bombay in 1848.

Ranjit Sinhji & Duleep Sinhji were later used for the Ranji Trophy and Duleep Trophy which launched the legacy of cricket in India. In the early 1900s, these two Indians played for the England cricket team. The first formal trip to the British Mainland by an Indian team took place in 1911; however, they only played against English county sides and not just the England cricket squad.

1932: First Test Match

India was welcomed by the Imperial Cricket Committee in 1926 and under the leadership of CK Naidu, the Indian side made its test playing debut in England in 1932.

The lone test between England & India played at London’s Lord’s stadium. India fell short by 158 runs in the game.

India staged its first test match in 1933. In late 1947, the squad played their maiden series as just an independent nation against Australia. India won their first test in the 24th match versus England at Madras in 1952. Later that year, they defeated Pakistan in their maiden test series, which they subsequently won.

India defeated England in their maiden test series in 1961–1962 and beat New Zealand at home. In 1967–1968, India defeated New Zealand and won its first encounter outside the Indian subcontinent.

Two of India’s most incredible batters, Sunil Gavaskar & Gundappa Viswanath, rose to prominence in the 1970s. Under the leadership of Ajit Wadekar, these players were instrumental in the 1971 West Indies & England series victories.

1974–1983: First One Day & ICC World Cup

India faced England in the inaugural one-day international (ODI) in 1974. Over the first two World Cups, India was a poor ODI squad that failed to get past the first round.

India defeated the West Indies in the World Cup final in 1983, and this victory altered the course of Indian cricket history.

In the late 1980s and early 1990s

The Indian team was significantly strengthened by the acquisition of Sachin Tendulkar & Anil Kumble in 1989 and 1990.

Despite having the best player in the world on team in 1990s, India lost 33 of its tests played outside of the subcontinent, winning 17 of the 30 tests played at home.

The new core, composed of Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, and Anil Kumble, vowed never to let this occur to them anymore and guided Indian cricket through its difficult period.

The 21st Century in Cricket History 

Under the leadership of Sourav Ganguly & John Wright, the Indian squad made significant strides forward. After winning the test series in 2001, India kept their perfect home record against Australia.

India and Sri Lanka shared the ICC Champions Trophy in 2001, and they progressed towards the 2003 Cricket World Cup, reaching the final but losing to Australia.

India conducted a test match in Australia from 2003 to 2004. They drew a game at 1-1 with both the world champions there before winning a test and ODI match in Pakistan.

The history of Indian cricket and Dhoni’s Charm

Dhoni was appointed captain of the Twenty20 & ODI team in August 2007 after India defeated England in the test series.

India defeated Pakistan in September 2007 to win their first-ever Twenty20 World Cup.

India’s 2007–2008 tour of Australia saw them lose the highly contentious home test series 2-1 but come out on top in the CV series.

They kept their standing by drawing series with Sri Lanka and South Africa. India defeated Australia 2-0 in a home test series in October 2010.

After the West Indies and Australia, India became the third side to win the Tournament twice on April 2, 2011, when they defeated Sri Lanka in the championship match. India also made history by being the first to win a World Cup home.

Global Success

India defeated Australia 4-0 at home in the test series by the beginning of 2013, 3-2 in the seven-match ODI series, and 1-0 in the T20 encounter.

In the 2013 Champions Trophy, India defeated England, and MS Dhoni became the first Indian cricket skipper to win all three main ICC trophies: the Cricket World Cup, Icc Cricket World Twenty20, and Champions Trophy.

Even by the end of 2014, the Indian Cricket team was in Australia when MS Dhoni abruptly announced his retirement.

Under the leadership of new captain Virat Kohli, India starts to win at home in the test series. They defeated South Africa in 2015, and the series marked the start of a run of 19 test matches without a loss.

Best Betting sites in India

Get 777 Real Money on Sign UP
300% Deposit Bonus


Crickex INR 100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000


5% Sports Cashback upto 15000
VIP Lucky Draw


300 Free Cash + 5 Free Spins
100%Bonus on Live Casino