Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore IPL 9th Match Review and Highlights

Kolkata Knight Riders and RCB played IPL 9th match at Eden Garden. RCB started the series with a very good performance but with KKR they disappointed the fans. RCB won the toss and elected to bowl first. However, in the initial overs, the bowlers of RCB performed extremely well. Later on when Shardul Thakur and Rinku Singh came to bat the whole game changed. Moreover, with the ball also KKRs bowlers performed mind-blowing. 

In 20 overs KKR scored 204 runs with the fall of 7 wickets. However, while chasing the target RCB got all out. They scored 123 runs in 18 overs. Below you will get the summary of the IPL 9th match.

Kolkata Knight Riders Innings 

Rahamanullah Gurbaz and Venkatesh Iyer opened the innings for KKR. However, Rahamanullah played excellent innings for the team. He scored 57 runs in 44 balls. Akash Deep caught him on the ball of KV Sharma. 

Moreover, Venkatesh Iyer scored 3 runs in 7 balls. DJ Willey bowled him. Mandeep Singh came to bat at number three. He scored 0 runs in 1 ball. DJ Willey bowled him. 

Nitish Rana scored 1 run in 5 balls. Michael Bracewell bowled him. After the immediate fall of three wickets, it seems like the KKRs innings will end soon at a low target. But Rinku Singh and Shardul Thakur changed the whole match. Rinku Singh scored 46 runs in 33 balls. Dinesh Kartik caught him on the ball of HV Patel. 

However, Shardul Thakur scored 68 runs in 29 balls. He scored the fastest fifty. GJ Maxwell caught him on the ball of Mohammed Siraj. 

After the innings of these two players, the whole scenario changed. The team who lost three wickets so fast ended up with a score of 204 in 20 overs with the fall of wickets.  In the T20 format, this is a tough task to chase and RCB failed to do so. 

Kolkata Knight Riders Bowling Scorecard 

Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets 
Umesh Yadav20170
Tim Southee20250
Sunil Narine40162
Varun Chakravarthy3.40154
Suyash Sharma40303
Shardul Thakur20151

Royal Challengers Bangalore Innings 

Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis opened the innings for the team. But today these two big players also failed. It seems like it was not RCBs day. Virat Kohli scored 21 runs in 18 balls. SP Narine bowled him. 

However, Faf du Plessis scored 23 runs in 12 balls. Varun Chakravarty bowled him. Michael Bracewell came to bat at number three. He scored 19 runs in 18 balls. N Rana caught him on the ball of Shardul Thakur. 

Glenn Maxwell came to bat at number four. He scored 5 runs in 7 balls. Varun Chakravarty bowled him. Harshal Patel who came to bat at number five got out on 0 runs. 

Shahbaz Ahmed came to bat at number six. He scored 1 run in 5 balls. Shardul Thakur caught him on the ball of SP Narine. 

No one played a big inning in the team which was the need of the hour and this is the reason they didn’t win the IPL 9th match. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore Bowling Scorecard 

Bowler Overs Maiden Runs Wickets 
Mohammed Siraj40441
David Willey41162
Akash Deep20300
Michael Bracewell30341
Shahbaz Ahmed1060
Karn Sharma30262
Harshal Patel30381

Kolkata Knight Riders Playing XI 

  • Rahmanullah Gurbaz(WK)
  • Venkatesh Iyer
  • Mandeep Singh
  • Nitish Rana(C)
  • Sunil Narine
  • Andre Russell
  • Rinku Singh
  • Tim Southee
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Shardul Thakur
  • Varun Chakravarthy
  • Suyash Sharma

Royal Challengers Bangalore Playing XI 

  • Virat Kohli
  • Faf du Plessis(C)
  • Dinesh Karthik(WK)
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Michael Bracewell
  • Shahbaz Ahmed
  • David Willey
  • Karn Sharma
  • Harshal Patel
  • Akash Deep
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Anuj Rawat
Best Betting sites in India

Get 777 Real Money on Sign UP
300% Deposit Bonus


Crickex INR 100% Bonus Up to ₹5,000


5% Sports Cashback upto 15000
VIP Lucky Draw


300 Free Cash + 5 Free Spins
100%Bonus on Live Casino